This Is How To NOT Take Things Personally.

Janie
5 min readJul 8, 2020
Photo by Aarón Blanco Tejedor on Unsplash

Someone at work, at the store, in traffic or even at home, makes a snide comment, cuts you off, insults you, discourages you and in general, behaves in ways you don’t appreciate. You’re upset and try to talk about it with a friend, relative or someone you trust, like a manager.

That’s when they hit you with, “Don’t take it personally.”

Maybe you’re one of those people who just “get it.” Good for you. Or perhaps you’re like me, and left wondering, “OK… but how!? What the hell am I supposed to do to not take it personally?”

People time and time again have failed to adequately explain this concept (to my liking anyway). Sometimes I would ask what they mean, and they’d give responses such as, “ You know, you just gotta brush it off, let it fall off of your shoulders. Be bigger than them. Maybe that person’s miserable. Perhaps they’re going through something, etc…” and other unhelpful commentary.

My friend, I don’t know about you, but none of the earlier responses have been helpful in quelling the myriad of intense emotions I’d feel after being slighted by a professional provocateur. Nor do they offer insight into what they mean by their directive to not take it personally.

Thankfully, the Light within me illuminated an understanding I can work with.

--

--

Janie

Ntuitive Empath, HSP, Mom to Cats & Small Humans. Lover of Astrology ~Psychology ~Magick~Self Help & Healing. Available for winning content: mel415nn@gmail.com